WSFRL Final Match of 2019 & Season Round-up

A total of 29 members of Chichester Runners took advantage of the break in weather on Sunday 3rd November 2019 for the final of the 17 race West Sussex Fun Run series at Horsham.

After starting on the first day of the year at the aptly named “Hangover 5” at Hill Barn, Worthing, the league has taken its competitors from 18 clubs across the county over a variety of challenging terrains and distances. Chichester’s own course in May was a change this year and wound its way over the picturesque paths in Goodwood Country Park.

Nearly 100 of the club’s members have taken part raging from multi-winner James Baker right through to members of the Beginners and Foundation Groups, which the club has successfully nurtured over recent years. Over the muddy undulating Denne Park course, it was long time member Mike Moorcroft who had the honour of leading the club home for the first time in his career.

Mike’s 80th place was followed by Fred Austin in 90th, Tim Brown 95th and Chichester’s first lady home Aleksandra Vargin with 97th overall and 13th woman to bring in the club’s only maximum ten bonus points of the day. It was indeed a day for the ladies as the next three highest bonus points scorers were all women, gaining nine points each with Elizabeth Robinson 153rd overall (F25), Vicky Balandis 156th (F26) and Jo Prosser 173rd (F34).

The rest of the squad among the 460 finishers in the race were ex-Chairman, Tom Blaylock 146th, Marcus Hammerton 155th, Peter Dunne 168th, Jan Hill 175th, Persephone Hagan 200th (F41), Tracy Lockyer 209th (F45), Wim Amir 225th, Kevin Lockyer 228th, Sue Baker 235th (F56), Peter Shaw, still going strong as an over 70, 249th, another V70 John Betts 267th, another ex-Chairman Tony Cooley 269th, Nadia Anderson 270th (F69), Peter Anderson, who has excelled as the only club member to have completed all 17 races 286th, Jill Renson 296th (F87), Julie Cleeves 305th (F92), Wendy Whelan 308th (F95), Simon Thompson 318th, Rachel  Dekker 323rd (F104), Gillian Brown 379th (F143), Michelle Daniels 389th (F151) and Helen Wilkinson 409th (F166).

Final League table after 17 races

Lewes AC                                       1992 points

Hove Hornets                                  1979

Portslade Hedgehoppers                  1963

Burgess Hill Runners                      1866

Worthing Harriers                            1851

Lancing Eagles                                1710

Saints & Sinners Crawley                1676

Arunners RC                                     1606

Chichester Runners & AC                 1602 

Horsham Joggers                        1437

Fittleworth Flyers                         1407

Worthing Striders                         1200

Henfield Joggers                          1145

Haywards Heath Harriers            1044

Arena 80                                      1023

Steyning AC                                  1009

Crawley Run Crew                         959

Goring Road Runners                   538